Eikenes Sal, University of stavanger

The 230-seat Eikenes sal concert hall — also called “LKS” —– at the University of Stavanger, while an enjoyable space to perform in, lacked acoustical life and envelopment. Kahle Acoustics visited in 2019 to listen to the hall with the music faculty and subsequently developed a set of curved wooden reflectors, along with a flexible mounting system, to enable an acoustic optimisation of the space. Once the reflectors had been installed, the staff and students adjusted the reflectors, under guidance from KA via video calls and 3D models, to adjust the reflectors to create reflections back to the musicians on stage as well as into the audience. During a subsequent visit, Kahle Acoustics collaborated with the faculty to further refine the panel locations and angles. The result is a hall with excellent acoustic definition of the instruments, increased projection, clarity and envelopment, as well as optimised on-stage acoustics for the musicians.

Information Sheet

Tuning/Intervention University of Stavanger   www.uis.no

Location Stavanger, Norway.

Time Frame June 2019-April 2020 + January 2022.

Client Stavanger University, Faculty of Performing Arts.

Venues A 230-seat hall for recitals and concerts mainly used by the music students in the Faculty of Performing Arts at the University of Stavanger.

Services Acoustic consulting services starting with listening and measurements of the existing room, 3D modelling to development the acoustic optimization concept, organisation of the fabrication of the reflectors, supervision of the installation and acoustic optimisation of the reflector positions and angles in close collaborations with the students and staff of the Faculty of Performing Arts.

Consultants Vincent Berrier, Evan Green and Eckhard Kahle, Kahle Acoustics.

1/6Eikenes Sal1/ Before acoustic optimisation, the LKS hall lacked acoustic definition and envelopment. Photo © Kahle Acoustics
2/6Eikenes Sal2/ The rear wall behind the audience prior to the optimisation project already had variable absorption panels installed. These panels were adjusted, to improve the reflection paths back to the musicians on stage. Photo © Kahle Acoustics
3/6Eikenes Sal3/ Arrays of curved wood reflectors were mounted onto a rail system on both sides of the hall. The panels close to the stage are optimised to enhance “cross-communication” paths between the musicians across the stage. In the audience area, the panels are angled to increase acoustic envelopment. Photo © Kahle Acoustics
4/6Eikenes Sal4/ Detail of the acoustic reflectors on stage. The lowest panels are strongly tilted to reduce resonances and loudness levels on stage. Photo © Kahle Acoustics
5/6Eikenes Sal5/ In the rear of the hall, the panels are angled downwards and rotated in plan to direct early lateral reflections into the audience. These panels create a much better definition of the space along with an enhanced sense of acoustic envelopment and connection with the musicians. Photo © Kahle Acoustics
6/6Eikenes Sal6/ A flexible mounting system for the panels was developed, to enable the acoustics to be optimised in-situ. This also enables future adaptations, as the use of the hall develops. Photo © Kahle Acoustics

Eikenes Sal, University of stavanger

L'Eikenes sal ou « LKS » est la salle de concert de 230 places de l'Université de Stavanger. C'est un espace appréciable dans lequel jouer mais qui manquait quelque peu de vigueur acoustique et d'enveloppe sonore. En 2019, Kahle Acoustics a pu visiter la salle et écouter comment elle sonnait. En a découlé la conception de réflecteurs acoustiques courbes en bois et d'un système de montage ajustable dans le but d'optimiser l'acoustique de LKS. Une fois les réflecteurs installés, l'équipe technique et les étudiants ont fait leurs propres ajustements sous notre supervision à distance à la fois au travers de vidéo-conférences mais surtout de modélisation 3D. Les réflecteurs ont été ajustés de façon à pouvoir orienter les réflexions sonores vers les musiciens sur scène et vers le public. Par la suite, Kahle Acoustics a collaboré avec la Faculté afin de préciser la position et l'angle des panneaux acoustiques. Depuis lors, la LKS bénéficie d'une excellente définition acoustique pour les instruments, d'une projection sonore plus importante, de davantage de clarté et d'enveloppe sonore et d'une optimisation acoustique sur scène pour les musiciens.

Fiche technique

Intervention/Réglage University of Stavanger   www.uis.no

Lieu Stavanger, Norvège.

Date de mission Juin 2019-Avril 2020 + Janvier 2022.

Client Université de Stavanger, Faculté des Arts de la Scène.

Lieu d'intervention Salle de concert de 230 places essentiellement utilisée par les étudiants musiciens de la Faculté des Arts de la Scène de l'Université de Stavanger.

Mission de conseil Services de conseil acoustique avec écoutes et mesures dans la salle existante, y inclus la modélisation 3D et le développement du concept d'optimisation acoustique, l'organisation et le suivi de fabrication des réflecteurs, la supervision de leur installation et l'optimisation acoustique de leur positions et angles et ce en concertation avec les étudiants et l'équipe technique de la Faculté des Arts de la Scène.

Consultant(s) Vincent Berrier, Evan Green et Eckhard Kahle, Kahle Acoustics.

1/6Eikenes Sal1/ Avant l'optimisation acoustique, la salle LKS manquait de définition acoustique et d'enveloppe sonore. Photo © Kahle Acoustics
2/6Eikenes Sal2/ Le mur derrière le public avant la mission d'optimisation bénéficiait déjà de panneaux acoustiques à l'absorption variable. Ces panneaux ont été ajustés afin d'améliorer le retour des réflexions vers les musiciens sur scène. Photo © Kahle Acoustics
3/6Eikenes Sal3/ De chaque côté de la salle ont été assemblés toute une suite de réflecteurs acoustiques courbes en bois sur un système de rail. Les panneaux côté scène sont là pour optimiser la communication entre les musiciens sur scène. Et côté salle, les panneaux sont inclinés de façon à augmenter l'enveloppement acoustique de la salle. Photo © Kahle Acoustics
4/6Eikenes Sal4/ Détail des panneaux acoustiques sur scène. Ceux placés au plus près du parterre sont fortement inclinés afin d'atténuer les résonnances et les niveaux sonores sur scène. Photo © Kahle Acoustics
5/6Eikenes Sal5/ En fond de la salle, les panneaux acoustiques sont orientés vers le bas et dirigés en plan de façon à orienter les réflexions latérales précoces vers le public. Ces panneaux acoustiques engendrent une meilleure définition de la salle en accroissant le sentiment d'enveloppement sonore et de connexion avec les musiciens. Photo © Kahle Acoustics
6/6Eikenes Sal6/ Un système de montage des réflecteurs a été pensé en termes de modularité de façon à pouvoir in-situ optimiser l'acoustique et, dans un plus long terme, de façon à pouvoir s'adapter en fonction d'éventuelles nouvelles utilisations de la salle. Photo © Kahle Acoustics