GES-2, Moscow

Renzo Piano Building Workshop is transforming the historic GES-2 power station in Moscow into a space dedicated to contemporary culture, art and performance. Built in the early 1900s, the former industrial building was taken over by the V-A-C Foundation who will operate and curate the space with a programme revolving around visual arts, performing arts, music and also science. The campus also includes “making spaces” for artists, including workshops and a recording studio, as well as artists' accommodation.

Information Sheet

Renovation/Transformation GES-2   v-a-c.org/en/ges2

Location Moscow, Russia.

Project Cost n/a.

Time Frame Concept and Design: 2017-2018. Construction: 2019-2020. Opening: 2021.

Owner V-A-C Foundation, Moscow, Russia.

Architect(s) Renzo Piano Building Workshop, France   www.rpbw.com  •  APEX Project Bureau, Russia   www.apex-project.ru

Seat Count A 100 m long exhibition space — the Nave — which includes a performance area for 100 audience, surrounded by a virtual acoustics system. For large events, the Nave can accommodate up to 3 000 standing audience. The Auditorium, furnished with a Gala seating system, has a variable seat count ranging from 300 to 450 seats. Ancillary spaces including a recording studio, galleries, teaching spaces, a restaurant and offices. Total building surface area: 20 000 m².

Uses Contemporary art exhibitions; large performances of opera, classical and contemporary music in the Nave; chamber music, lectures, drama and cinema in the Auditorium.

Services Full acoustic consulting and design scope for GES 2 including development of concept design and brief for room acoustics and audio systems, design of virtual acoustics systems, development of architectural solutions, recording studio design, building acoustics and noise control, site supervision and commissioning.

Team Evan Green, Cees Mulder, Eckhard Kahle, Kahle Acoustics. In collaboration with Akukon Oy, Finland.

01/15GES-2The historic GES-2 power station in Moscow has been converted into a centre for contemporary culture, art and performance. Its four blue chimneys catch the cleanest air at 70 m altitude, one of many an example of the sustainable approach of Renzo Piano Building Workshop on the building. Photo © Kahle Acoustics
02/15GES-2The historic GES-2 power station in Moscow has been converted into a centre for contemporary culture, art and performance. Its four blue chimneys catch the cleanest air at 70 m altitude, one of many an example of the sustainable approach of Renzo Piano Building Workshop on the building. Photo © Kahle Acoustics
03/15GES-2The Playhouse is a multi-functional performance space with a seat count ranging from 300 to 420 seats. The dedicated performance space is highly flexible: a Gala system in the wooden floor area provides additional seating, while an extensive system of acoustic banners and electroacoustic enhancement enables the acoustics to be varied from very dry for cinema use all the way to a resonant acoustic for chamber music concerts. Photo © Kahle Acoustics
04/15GES-2View from the Playhouse seating towards the stage and birch tree forest beyond. The curved wooden acoustic reflectors provide optimised early reflections to enhance speech intelligibility and musical clarity. Photo © Kahle Acoustics
05/15GES-2The main space in GES-2 is the 100 m long Prospekt. Various platforms, stairs and galleries enable performances in multiple locations, with audience distributed throughout the space. Photo © Kahle Acoustics
06/15GES-2Detail of the galleries passing through the existing roof structure. The original roof structure was retained and strengthened to carry an array of translucent solar panels. Photo © Kahle Acoustics
07/15GES-2The Central Platform and informal stepped audience seating at the centre of the Prospekt. A virtual acoustic environment has been created around the Platform and audience using a cloud of loudspeakers and microphones. This provides acoustic intimacy and acoustic envelopment for the performers and audience within this “bubble”. Photo © Kahle Acoustics
08/15GES-2The Piazza is the main entrance to the building and includes a library, cafe and bookshop. The space is acoustically treated and equipped for informal performances. Photo © Kahle Acoustics
09/15GES-2The Central Platform can be rigged with additional loudspeakers and lighting for various types of events including live amplified concerts. Photo © Kahle Acoustics
10/15GES-2Multiple exhibition spaces have been created within the historic building, offering different dimensions, perspectives and combinations of natural daylight. Acoustic absorption has been integrated into the galleries in multiple ways, here with sound absorbing ceiling blinds. Photo © Kahle Acoustics
11/15GES-2A Recording Studio with Control Room, Live Room, Booth and editing suites has been constructed in the basement under the historic Vaults. The view from the Control Room to the Live Room shows the different types and quantities of custom-fabricated wooden panels that are used in each space to optimise the acoustics to their specific uses. Photo © Kahle Acoustics
12/15GES-2View from the Live Room towards the Control Room and Booth. Behind the wooden panels, each room in the Recording Studios has a fabric surface covering acoustically optimised absorbers, including optimised bass absorption membranes. Photo © Kahle Acoustics
13/15GES-2The Listening Room in one of the historic vaults has a variable acoustic and can be used as an additional Live Room for recording or for high quality listening to the dedicated hi-fi system. Photo © Kahle Acoustics
14/15GES-2The Piazza viewed towards the cafe and restaurant, here set up for the opening party. Custom-designed sound absorbing panels on the ceiling create a calm environment for banquets, and control the acoustic for informal performances. Photo © Kahle Acoustics
15/15GES-2The Garden at night with the main building and Vaults in the background. A birch tree forest has been created, rising from the main building and covering the underground car park. Sound artists can also use the outside space creatively by activating the hidden loudspeakers, integrated along the winding path through the trees. Photo © Kahle Acoustics

GES-2, Moscou

Renzo Piano Building Workshop transforme une usine moscovite construite au début des années 1900 en un espace dédié à la culture contemporaine. Ce bâtiment, le GES-2 accueillera des arts visuels, des arts performatifs, mais également de la musique et des sciences. La V-A-C Foundation est à l'origine de ce projet de réhabilitation.

Fiche technique

Rénovation/Transformation GES-2.

Lieu Moscou, Russie.

Coût de construction n/a.

Date de réalisation Conception : 2017-2018. Construction : 2019-2020. Ouverture : 2021.

Maîtrise d'ouvrage V-A-C Foundation, Moscou, Russie.

Architecte(s) Renzo Piano Building Workshop, France   www.rpbw.com  •  APEX Project Bureau, Russie   www.apex-project.ru

Capacité Un espace d'exposition de 100 m de long — la Nef — qui comprend un espace de représentation pour 100 spectateurs, entouré d'un système acoustique virtuel. Pour les grandes manifestations, la Nef peut accueillir jusqu'à 3 000 spectateurs debout. L'Auditorium, équipé d'un système de sièges de gala, dispose d'un nombre variable de places assises allant de 300 à 450. Des espaces annexes comprenant un studio d'enregistrement, des galeries, des espaces d'enseignement, un restaurant et des bureaux. Superficie totale du bâtiment : 20 000 m².

Utilisations Expositions d'art contemporain; grandes représentations d'opéra, de musique classique et contemporaine dans la Nef; musique de chambre, conférences, théâtre et cinéma dans l'Auditorium.

Services fournis Conseil et conception acoustique complète pour GES-2, y compris l'élaboration d'un concept et d'un cahier des charges pour l'acoustique des salles et les systèmes audio, la conception de systèmes acoustiques virtuels, le développement de solutions architecturales, la conception de studios d'enregistrement, l'acoustique des bâtiments et le contrôle du bruit, la supervision du site et la mise en service.

Consultant(s) Evan Green, Cees Mulder, Eckhard Kahle, Kahle Acoustics. En collaboration avec Akukon Oy, Finlande.

01/15GES-2Cette ancienne centrale électrique GES-2 à Moscou a été transformée en un centre de culture, d'art et de spectacles contemporains. Ses quatre cheminées d'une hauteur de 70 mètres captent l'air le plus pur de la ville et sont une des illustrations de la durabilité pensée par l'équipe de Renzo Piano Building Workshop dans le cadre de cette reconversion. Photo © Kahle Acoustics
02/15GES-2Cette ancienne centrale électrique GES-2 à Moscou a été transformée en un centre de culture, d'art et de spectacles contemporains. Ses quatre cheminées d'une hauteur de 70 mètres captent l'air le plus pur de la ville et sont une des illustrations de la durabilité pensée par l'équipe de Renzo Piano Building Workshop dans le cadre de cette reconversion. Photo © Kahle Acoustics
03/15GES-2La Playhouse est une salle de spectacles d'une grande modularité et d'une capacité de 300 à 420 places. Le système Gala situé dans la zone de son plancher en bois permet d'augmenter la jauge. Il y a également un système extensible de panneaux acoustiques et d'améliorations électroacoustiques qui offrent à la Playhouse une variabilité acoustique telle que très sèche pour le cinéma ou encore réverbérante pour des concerts de musique de chambre. Photo © Kahle Acoustics
04/15GES-2Vue de la Playhouse vers la scène avec en fond, sa forêt de bouleaux. Les réflecteurs acoustiques courbes permettent d'optimiser les réflexions précoces et d'améliorer l'intelligibilité de la parole ou d'apporter plus de clarté musicale. Photo © Kahle Acoustics
05/15GES-2Prospekt est l'espace principal du Ges-2, il mesure 100 mètres de long. Diverses plateformes, escaliers et allées permettent de proposer des spectacles dans de multiples lieux et de répartir le public en fonction. Photo © Kahle Acoustics
06/15GES-2Détail des allées qui traversent la structure existante du toit. Cette dernière a été conservée et renforcée pour pouvoir porter tout un ensemble de panneaux solaires translucides. Photo © Kahle Acoustics
07/15GES-2La Central Platform, au cœur de l'espace principal qu'est le Prospekt, avec ici un public qui s'est installé sur des gradins improvisés en sièges. Autour de cette plateforme et de son public a été conçu un environnement d'acoustique virtuelle composé d'une nuée de haut-parleurs et de microphones. Cela engendre une acoustique intime qui, dans cette « bulle », enveloppe à la fois les artistes et le public. Photo © Kahle Acoustics
08/15GES-2La Piazza est l'entrée principale du bâtiment, elle comprend une bibliothèque, un café et une librairie. Elle a subi un traitement acoustique et peut accueillir des spectacles informels. Photo © Kahle Acoustics
09/15GES-2La Central Platform peut être équipée de haut-parleurs et d'éclairages supplémentaires pour divers types d'événements, y compris des concerts de musique amplifiée. Photo © Kahle Acoustics
10/15GES-2Au sein du bâtiment historique ont été pensés une multitude d'espaces d'exposition qui offrent diverses dimensions, perspectives et jeux de lumière naturelle. L'absorption acoustique a été intégrée au sein de ces galeries de façon multiple, ici avec des stores en sous-plafond qui sont absorbants. Photo © Kahle Acoustics
11/15GES-2Un studio d'enregistrement, comprenant une régie, un studio d'enregistrement « live », une cabine d'enregistrement et des espaces de montage, a été construit au sous-sol sous les voûtes historiques. La vue de la régie vers la salle d'enregistrement « live » montre les différents modèles et la quantité de panneaux en bois fabriqués sur mesure qui sont utilisés dans chaque espace afin d'en optimiser l'acoustique et au gré d'utilisations spécifiques. Photo © Kahle Acoustics
12/15GES-2Vue depuis le studio d'enregistrement vers la régie et la cabine d'enregistrement. Derrière les panneaux de bois, chaque pièce des studios d'enregistrement est habillée en surface d'un tissu qui recouvre des absorbeurs acoustiquement optimisés et qui contient des membranes d'absorption des basses optimisées. Photo © Kahle Acoustics
13/15GES-2La salle d'écoute, située sous l'une des voûtes historiques, bénéficie d'une acoustique variable et peut-être utilisée comme studio d'enregistrement « live » ou pour une écoute de haute qualité grâce à son système hi-fi. Photo © Kahle Acoustics
14/15GES-2La Piazza, vue vers le café et le restaurant, ici aménagée pour la fête d'ouverture. Des panneaux acoustiques au plafond offrent un environnement calme dans le cadre de réceptions et, dans le cadre de spectacles informels, permettent d'en contrôler l'acoustique. Photo © Kahle Acoustics
15/15GES-2Vue du jardin la nuit avec en fond le bâtiment et les voûtes. Une forêt de bouleaux a été créée qui s'élève du bâtiment principal et qui se situe au-dessus du parking souterrain. Les artistes sonores peuvent également utiliser cet espace extérieur de manière créative en activant les haut-parleurs cachés, intégrés le long du chemin sinueux à travers les arbres. Photo © Kahle Acoustics